Halfway

Words

December twelfth which means we’re halfway through blogmas and halfway to Christmas. With only twelve days left I cannot help but wonder where time went. I find it hard to believe a year has already passed. Surely, this could wait until New Years but I’m afraid my mind won’t rest easy on the subject.

Though I’ve experienced the end of the year a few times (once per year I’ve lived, obviously) it always seems a bit odd to know it’s almost over. I often think of what I’ve accomplished during the passing year and far to often I realise I’ve probably done nothing to change the world. Maybe I’m being to hard on myself but it feels like I should have at least done something. But perhaps I have. Perhaps we all have achieved something without even knowing it. And it doesn’t even have to be an extraordinary thing. Maybe we made somebody smile or we’ve helped someone in need. Maybe our mere presence made a horrible day worth enduring. Because we cannot measure the meaning of something by simply looking at how it has changed the world. Changing another person’s world can be equally as meaningful. And maybe that’s what’s extraordinary?

And when you think about it, isn’t this what Christmas is all about?  To really think about the kindness we’ve shown to each other. The time to celebrate humanity. But also a time for reflection and to try finding new ways to better ourselves for next year. Don’t we owe that to each other? To be the best version of ourselves? At least that’s what I like to think. And who knows, perhaps you do too(:

⇝K

Leave a Reply

