Driving “Home” For Christmas

Stuff

In all the years I have been alive (sounds like I am suuuuper old, I´m not, I promise!) I have never celebrated christmas at home. My first christmas was spent with my mum, dad, big brother, some of my cousins and my dad’s parents (my grandparents). All of these people (except my brother, mum and dad, obviously) live about 14-16 hours from my home town.

The rest of the christmases in my life have been spent with my other grandparents. In order to get to their house first we have to drive for two hours, ride the ferry for two hours and then drive for another half an hour until we finally arrive.

This year my brothers and I drove here earlier than we usually do. Whilst sitting on the ferry I realised that it dosen’t feel like christmas is truly coming until we go to my grandmother’s house. The time before christmas is fun and all but it feels like it’s infinite. It’s when we leave for the long drive I realise christmas eve is just a few days away. Because for me my true home at christmas is my grandmother’s.

So do you stay home at christmas or do you travel? I honestly can’t imagine spending christmas anywhere else than my grandmother’s house.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

➢ M

Leave a Reply

