Spicy [vegan + RAW] chocolate truffles

Yummy

I realise as I start writing this that my latest blogpost was also a food related Christmassy DIY…. Oh well. Here we go.

I love giving edible gifts to people. They are great and everyone (well, at least I think so) loves to receive things that aren’t just things but also something to nibble on during the holidays. These gifts feel very warm and sincere to me, since you actually took time and effort to make something for them – same goes for other DIY-gifts 

In my family, we usually have a tradition of making Christmas treats about a week before Christmas Eve together with some friends to the family. This year, that didn’t really happen. It’s making me quite sad actually, but to stop myself from feeling like I missed out on an important part of my Christmas preparation, I decided to make some treats. These are super easy spicy chocolate truffles, and in addition they’re vegan, RAW and quite healthy (or at least healthier than the usual treats)! They contain no weird added sugars, and also cocoa, cayenne and cinnamon are all really great spices. I won’t ramble about how much I like these truffles anymore, let’s just get on with the recipe!

 

 You will need:

400 grams of soft dates

2 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

50 g finely chopped dark chocolate (vegan)

1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons cacao powder, unsweetened

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of cayenne

(+extra spices for dusting)
This is what you’ll do:

If you have a great food processor, just whack it all in there and pulse it to a nice, smooth batter. Otherwise, you can also do what I did and beat all the ingredients together for a good few minutes until you have something that kind of resembles a nearly-smooth mixture. It won’t really make a huge difference, flavour-wise at least! Then, you roll the dough-thing into small balls and dust them in whatever you like. Cocoa powder is probably most common, but I also dusted some of them in a mixture of cocoa, cinnamon and cayenne (ooh the three c-words!) and if you like spicy I would really recommend that! You can chill the truffles if you want, although I didn’t find it completely necessary. Now, with your small balls of deliciousness made, you have to choices; to give them away in a cute box as a tasty gift, or to just stuff your face full of ’em. Naturally, I did both. Enjoy!
   
    
 

~ J

Leave a Reply

