Vegan Valentine’s Day Brownies

Yummy

Sometimes you think to yourself: “oh, I should make brownies” and sometimes you think: “I should try making them vegan and without any added sugar”.

And sometimes you think: “I surely don’t need a recipe?!”…

… Just me? Oh, well. That’s at least what I did yesterday evening when I got home from work. I have to admit, even though I kind of set myself up for disaster… It didn’t turn out that bad! Well, sure, it didn’t have the most brownie-cake-like texture. Sure, it could’ve been sweeter, and sure, it was mostly just a baked gooey mix of mashed banana and dates. But at least it was fudgy, chocolaty – and I actually liked it quite a bit.

I’m not really selling this recipe, am I? Try it! Yay! Valentine’s Day! Woho! Chocolate! Brownie! Vegan!

No, but seriously..  It was completely improvised, but I actually liked how it turned out, for realsies.
Ingredients:

2 banana, the more ripe the better

~7 soft dates (if you use dried, then maybe soak them for a little while, just to make it a bit easier..)

1 cup flour

2-3 tablespoons of cocoa powder (unsweetened if you want)

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

4-6 tablespoons of “milk” (non-dairy, I used coconut milk I think)

~40 grams of dairy-free butter (I’m sure oil works as well)
Directions:

Mash together the bananas and the dates until smooth (try to remove the skin on the dates for an even smoother batter). Mix the dry ingredients and add the banana-date-mash. Blend, it will be quite dry but keep stirring. Then add the milk to loosen the batter. Melt the butter and add it too. Pour (or spoon, rather) it in to a pan and cook in an oven, preheated to 175 degrees Celsius, for about 15 minutes (I actually have no idea for how long, I suggest checking on it until it is starting to feel and look somewhat cakey on top and a skewer comes out fairly clean). Voila! Add some heart sprinkles if you want. 

Something I think would be great in this brownie is nuts! Try adding some chopped nuts, I’m sure it’s great. I wanted to keep the recipe nut-free, but now I want to try making it again with some add-ins such as nuts and chocolate chips.

   
   
Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day!
~J (yet another baking recipe by me… I know…)

Leave a Reply

