The vegan’s everyday battle

Stuff

Okey, I have been wanting to write this post for quite some time now but I must admit I have been too scared to do it. I am always a bit scared when writing about something that I am really passionate about and also a subject (which you have already guessed since it is in the title) which is the cause of a lot of discussions and debates. (Note that this post is not a description of why I decided to be vegan, it deserves its own post in the future).

As you all know, we who make out the escapecolumn are all vegan. I am vegan (I do not like saying that I am a vegan because it sounds like I am a thing and not an actual person). Becoming vegan is one of the best decisions I have ever made in my entire life (wow I sound really old now). But ever since I started eating a plant-based diet I have become more and more reluctant to talk about it. Of course I do talk about it but not like I used to. When I first became vegan, almost a year ago (actually it is one year on Wednesday!!), I was high on the rush, thinking that everyone could change. If I, a dedicated cheese-lover and milk drinker, could become vegan then anyone could do it. This of course was very naïve of me to think, which I later would be well aware of.

IMG_3653.JPG(Bubbles in London. Maybe the idea of meat as the best diet is just a bubble, ready to burst?)

Today my optimism is more like a faded memory than anything of substantial worth. People are reluctant to change and often, I have found, unwilling to understand. And with people I mean meat eaters. I am constantly questioned for being vegan. People ask me why I don not eat meat, they make fun of me, saying stupid things and so on and so forth. And I am really fed up with all that bullshit. I am tired of being questioned. Because it is not me being vegan that is the problem here, it is the fact that I am challenging the majority’s eating habits. It is the fact that I am questioning the “meat diet” that upsets people. When someone asks me why I am vegan I tell them why but often my whys results in them going into full defence mode saying stuff like: “but cows need to be milked” and “we need to eat meat to survive” and so on. Just uttering the word vegan will cause people to put their gard up. And my intention was purely to tell them why since they asked. I was not attacking them! A vegan lifestyle is not a norm in today’s society, but I think it should be. It would be the best for everyone, for both animals and humans. But to be constantly questioned is so damn tiring. It is incredibly hard to stay somewhat positive.

I find the best way to keeping a positive attitude is really to ignore the people who question your choice. Okey bear with me here, I am not saying you should not inform others of why you have made your choice of becoming vegan (whatever it may be) if they ask, but simply not putting yourself in a situation where you know your choice will be questioned. What I am referring to specifically is the comment section on various platforms. These are the places where everyone has an opinion. I think there is no way vegans can benefit from reading those kind of comments. All that will happen is that you will get upset and angry because of other people’s (meat eaters) stupid arguments. In the end there is nothing you can achieve by reading these kind of comments.

I am NOT saying we should not take the debate and stand up for our beliefs, we definitely should, but why beat ourselves up? Why go through endless comments with crazy statements and uneducated crap? Unfortunately they will always be there, until the whole planet is vegan, so why bother?

In order to be able to survive we need to chose our battles (I cannot believe I’m actually saying this since I always take on EVERY battle). We vegans know we have the better arguments, so let us use them in situations where they matter! The battle of the comment section is neither worth our time nor our effort.

⇝K

Leave a Reply

