Best Contemporary Stand Alone Books

Enjoyment

Hello, how are you? I was wondering if after all these days I would get it together and write a blogpost. I had planned on posting a pancake recipe a few weeks ago, but now it feels outdated and I can’t remember the recipe.

So instead I thought I would share my top ten contemporary books. At first I thought this would be quite an easy post to write but now I realise that I’m not really sure what qualifies as a contemporary. Is Anna and the French Kiss a stand alone contemporary novel? Because in a way it is but you could see it as part of a series because Anna appears in both Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After… I have the same problem with The Giver… Because there are three complementary book after the first one and I don’t know if that make them count as a series or not… Anyway I should stop rambling about unimportant stuff and get to it.

 

M’s top 10 contemporary stand alone books

 

The Book Thief

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Fangirl

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Since you’ve been gone

An Abundance of Katherines

Fly on the Wall

All the Bright Places

The Boy Next Door

Food, Girls and Other Things I Can’t Have

 

I wouldn’t say these books are life changing but they are enjoyable reads. Also it has been a while since I read some of these books and I have probably forgotten how I felt when I read them… I do still remember reading The Book Thief, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Fly on the Wall and also Since you’ve been gone. They are all great and I love them in different ways. I remember thinking that The Book Thief was a book I had to bring when I get my own place. Whilst reading Aristotle and Dante and Since You’ve Been Gone I found myself relating to the characters in some way even though my life is nothing like Ari’s. Since You’ve Been Gone also became a sort of inspiration… The book made me want to get out of my comfort zone and buy disposable cameras. Anyways I’m rambling again… I’ll stop now… I do strongly recommend each of these books, some are quite sad and others are funny but they are all heartwarming.

(I realise that my two lastest post have both been lists… oops sorry! And sorry for taking forever to write a new blogpost, fortunately you have K och J who are- for the time being- a lot more active on our blog!)

➢ M

Leave a Reply

