3-ingredient vegan biscuits

Yummy

… Okay, the title is somewhat of a lie. Soz. But, if I would’ve had self-raising flour, then it would’ve been 3-ingredients only! AND even though I used a few more ingredients than 3, it was actually so quick, like incredibly quick. They only took about 20 minutes to make and turned out pretty good.

I’ve been seeing these little cuties on the interwebz for a while now, both on YouTube and Pinterest (my 2 absolute internet obsessions… #guilty). So, when I woke up yesterday, feeling hungry and in the mood for something warm and filling, I decided to whip up these biscuits. (And fyi, biscuits in this case, mean small bread buns, almost like scones, I actually associate biscuits with pastries, like cookies, but yeah. thought I would clarify that!)

So yep, if you want to make a super easy and super delicious breakfast, here you go:

Ingredients:

2 cups flour (if you don’t use self-raising, add in about 2 teaspoons of baking powder and a dash of salt. I substituted some of the flour for whole-meal flour for even more filling biscuits!)

1/4 cup solid coconut oil

3/4 cup oat milk or other dairy-free milk

 

Here’s how to:

Preheat oven to about 215  degrees C. Add the flour in to a bowl, and mix in the coconut oil with something like a sturdy fork (or a pastry cutter, if you have those kinds of fancy equipments, I don’t). Then, pour in the milk and stir together to make somewhat of a dough. It’s really soft, so just knead it gently together if you feel like it kneads it (*ba-dum tsss*). You could say these biscuits aren’t very kneady (*ba-dum tsss*… okay I’ll stop)! Don’t overdo it, just let it come together softly. Then, pour out the dough onto a floured surface and roll it out quite thin, maybe about a centimeter or two, it’s up to you (I’m rhyming too now? I have to finish this quick before it becomes too cheesy… And I don’t eat cheese… Okay I’ll let myself out). Then, using a cookie cutter or something else that’s round and quite small, cut circles out of the dough and put them on a baking sheet with lined with baking paper. Put in the oven for about 10 minutes and hopefully they’ll have risen a bit! Enjoy them steaming hot with something like dairy-free butter or cream cheese – or even some jam!

 

(I found this recipe originally on Gimme Some Oven, which I’ve mentioned previously, it’s THE BEST baking website EVER. You’ll fall in love with it just like I have.)

~J

Leave a Reply

