// from the past

Words

Hi. I noticed you, from all the way over here… I vaguely recognise you. But I don’t know you.Not anymore.

Would you be my friend, still? Do you still have that sunshine smile, are you happy enough to laugh and love unconditionally?

I don’t know your face as well, have you lost your summer freckles? Your hair is shorter now, different, right? I don’t know your insecurities, if you still have them, they must’ve changed. Have you changed, too?

I don’t know you. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to know you, though.

The light in your eyes resemble something I once wished for, maybe just slightly less bright, there’s a grey shadow in them.

How are you? Are you doing alright?

Do you have nightmares? I have them all the time. But I daydream loads. I hope you do too.

I wish we could meet some day, but I know we won’t. 

Maybe we’re too different. Or maybe, just maybe…. we’re too similar.

~ J

Leave a Reply

